REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NANAIMO

MINUTES OF THE INAUGURAL BOARD MEETING OF THE REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NANAIMO HELD ON TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 8, 2016 AT 7:00 PM IN THE RDN BOARD CHAMBERS

In Attendance:

Director W. Veenhof	Chairperson
	•

Director C. Haime **Deputy Chairperson** Director A. McPherson Electoral Area A Electoral Area B Director H. Houle Director M. Young Electoral Area C Electoral Area E Director B. Rogers Director J. Fell Electoral Area F Director J. Stanhope Electoral Area G Director B. Bestwick City of Nanaimo Director J. Hong City of Nanaimo Director J. Kipp City of Nanaimo Director W. Pratt City of Nanaimo Director I. Thorpe City of Nanaimo Director M. Lefebvre City of Parksville

Regrets:

Director B. McKay	City of Nanaimo
Director B. Yoachim	City of Nanaimo

Director T. Westbroek Town of Qualicum Beach

Also in Attendance:

P. Carlyle	Chief Administrative Officer

R. Alexander Gen. Mgr. Regional & Community Utilities & Solid Waste

G. Garbutt Gen. Mgr. Strategic & Community Development

T. Osborne Gen. Mgr. Recreation & Parks

D. Trudeau Gen. Mgr. Transportation & Emergency Planning Services

J. Harrison Director of Corporate Services

W. Idema Director of Finance

J. Hill Mgr. Administrative Services

C. Golding Recording Secretary

CALL TO ORDER

The Chief Administrative Officer called the meeting to order.

Confirmation of Appointment of Representatives to the Board from Member Municipalities.

16-703 MOVED Director Stanhope, SECONDED Director Lefebvre, that confirmation of the appointment of representatives to the Board from the City of Nanaimo, City of Parksville, Town of Qualicum Beach, and District of Lantzville be received.

CARRIED

ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIRPERSON

The Chief Administrative Officer called for nominations for the position of Chairperson.

Director Rogers nominated Director Veenhof.

Director Veenhof accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations, the Chief Administrative Officer declared Director Veenhof as Chairperson of the Board.

The Chairperson claimed his seat and expressed his thanks.

ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON

The Chairperson called for nominations for the position of Deputy Chairperson.

Director Stanhope nominated Director Haime.

Director Haime accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations, the Chairperson declared Director Haime as Deputy Chairperson of the Board.

BOARD MINUTES

Minutes of the Regular Board meeting held Tuesday, October 25, 2016.

16-704 MOVED Director Stanhope, SECONDED Director Lefebvre, that the minutes of the Regular Board meeting held Tuesday, October 25, 2016, be adopted.

CARRIED

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

FOR ADOPTION

Community Sewer Amendment Bylaw Nos. 888.07 and 889.72.

16-705 MOVED Director Houle, SECONDED Director Lefebvre, that "Regional District of Nanaimo Southern Community Sewer Local Service Amendment Bylaw No. 888.07, 2016" be adopted.

CARRIED

16-706 MOVED Director Houle, SECONDED Director Lefebvre, that "Regional District of Nanaimo Northern Community Sewer Local Service Amendment Bylaw No. 889.72, 2016" be adopted.

CARRIED

IN CAMERA

16-707 MOVED Director Stanhope, SECONDED Director Lefebvre, that pursuant to sections 90 (1)(f), (i), (k) and (m) of the *Community Charter* the Board adjourn to an In Camera Meeting for discussions related to law enforcement, solicitor-client privilege, a proposed service, policy advice and recommendations, and intergovernmental relations.

and intergovernmental relations.	CARRIED
ADJOURNMENT: 7:07 PM	
CHAIRPERSON	CORPORATE OFFICER