#### REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NANAIMO

## SPECIAL BOARD MEETING TUESDAY, JANUARY 9, 2007

(immediately following the Committee of the Whole meeting)

(RDN Board Chambers)

#### AGENDA

#### CALL TO ORDER

#### UNFINISHED BUSINESS

BYLAWS

For Adoption.

Bylaw No. 867.03. (All Directors - One Vote)

That "Nanoose Bay Peninsula Water Service Area Amendment Bylaw No. 867.03, 2006" be adopted.

This is a bylaw to amend the service area boundaries for the property located at 2399 Higginson Road in Area E, thereby aligning the property boundaries for clarity with regard to the property tax rolls.

#### Community Parks Amendment Bylaws.

These bylaws amend the Electoral Area Community Parks bylaws which are required to permit financial support for operations and improvements to buildings owned and operated by incorporated non-profit organizations.

1. Bylaw No. 799.07. (All Directors - One Vote)

That "Electoral Area 'B' Community Parks Local Service Amendment Bylaw No. 799.07, 2006" be adopted.

2. Bylaw No. 801.06. (All Directors - One Vote)

That "Electoral Area 'C' (defined Area 'C') Community Parks Local Service Amendment Bylaw No. 801.06, 2006" be adopted.

3. Bylaw No. 802.04. (All Directors – One Vote)

That "Electoral Area 'C' (defined Area 'D') Community Parks Local Service Amendment Bylaw No. 802.04, 2006" be adopted.

4. Bylaw No. 803.04. (All Directors - One Vote)

That "Electoral Area 'E' Community Parks Local Service Amendment Bylaw No. 803.04, 2006" be adopted.

5. Bylaw No. 804.04. (All Directors - One Vote)

That "Electoral Area 'F' Community Parks Local Service Amendment Bylaw No. 804.04, 2006" be adopted.

6. Bylaw No. 805.05. (All Directors - One Vote)

That "Electoral Area 'G' Community Parks Local Service Amendment Bylaw No. 805.05, 2006" be adopted.

7. Bylaw No. 806.05. (All Directors - One Vote)

That "Electoral Area 'H' Community Parks Local Service Amendment Bylaw No. 806.05, 2006" be adopted.

#### CORPORATE ADMINISTRATION SERVICES

Board Appointments to Standing, Select and Advisory Committees. (All Directors - One Vote)

Selection Committee Appointments. (Verbal) (All Directors - One Vote)

ADDENDUM

3-7

**NEW BUSINESS** 

ADJOURNMENT

IN CAMERA



## **MEMORANDUM**

TO:

Board of Directors

DATE:

January 4, 2007

FROM:

Joe Stanhope

Chairperson

SUBJECT:

Board Appointments to Standing, Select and Advisory Committees

#### Purpose:

To advise the Board of Directors of the Chairperson's Board Appointments to the Regional District of Nanaimo Standing, Select and Advisory Committees for 2007.

#### Background:

Pursuant to s.30 (4) and (5) of the "Board Procedure Bylaw No. 1512", the Chairperson reviews the appointments of Board members to various Standing, Select and Advisory Committees annually. The attached list identifies the Chairperson's appointments of Board members to these Committees.

#### Recommendation:

That the Board Appointments to the 2007 Regional District of Nanaimo Standing, Select and Advisory Committees be received for information.

fr: Jinda Burgayne)
J. Stanhope, Chairperson

# 2007 Board Appointments Scheduled Standing Committees

## Regional District of Nanaimo Board Appointments

	Appointment	Alternate
Arrowsmith Water Service Management Committee	J. Stanhope	G. Holme
Deep Bay Harbour Authority	D. Bartram	
District 69 Recreation Commission	D. Bartram	L. Biggemann
Island Corridor Foundation	J. Stanhope	
Mt. Arrowsmith Biosphere Foundation	L. Biggemann	
Vancouver Island Biosphere Centre	L. Biggemann	
Municipal Finance Authority	J. Stanhope	G. Holme
Municipal Insurance Association (MIA)	L. McNabb	
North Island 911 Corporation	J. Stanhope	S. Herle
RDN Emergency Planning Committee	L. Biggemann	B. Sperling
Regional Library Board	G. Holme	D. Bartram
Treaty Advisory Committee	M. Young	J. Burnett
Te'Mexw Treaty Negotiations Committee	G. Holme	C. Haime B. Dempsey
Oceanside Tourism Association	G. Holme	

## Nanaimo Regional Hospital District Board Appointments

Vancouver Island Health Authority Project Building Committee	D. Brennan	B. Bestwick
Vancouver Island Health Authority Joint Capital Planning Committee	J. Stanhope	B. Holdom

## 2007 Standing & Select Committees

## ELECTORAL AREA PLANNING STANDING COMMITTEE

(2nd Tuesday 6:30 pm) (Current & Community Planning)

D. Bartram (Chair)

M. Young

J. Stanhope

G. Holme (Deputy)

L. Biggemann

J. Burnett

#### COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

(2nd Tuesday 7:00 pm)

(Corporate & Community/Development/Environmental Services)

J. Stanhope (Chair)

J. Burnett

M. Young

G. Holme

D. Bartram T. Westbroek

G. Korpan

J. Manhas

L. McNabb (Deputy)

B. Sperling

L. Biggemann

S. Herle

C. Haime

B. Holdom

B. Bestwick

D. Brennan

#### EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

J. Stanhope (Chair)

J. Manhas

G. Holme

B. Holdom

L. McNabb (Deputy)

D. Bartram

T. Westbroek

M. Young

## REGIONAL HOSPITAL DISTRICT SELECT COMMITTEE

T. Westbroek (Chair)

D. Brennan

B. Johnston

J. Stanhope

J. Burnett

C. Haime

## CLIMATE CHANGE SELECT COMMITTEE

D. Bartram (Chair)

L. Biggemann B. Holdom

S. Herle

#### TRANSIT SELECT COMMITTEE

L. McNabb (Chair) J. Stanhope J. Burnett T. Westbroek D. Brennan S. Herle B. Holdom J. Manhas G. Holme C. Haime



# 2007 Board Appointments Advisory Committees

#### Electoral Area 'A' Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee

J. Burnett

## East Wellington/Pleasant Valley Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee

M. Young

#### Nanoose Bay Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee

G. Holme

#### Electoral Area 'G' Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee

J. Stanhope

#### Electoral Area 'H' Parks & Open Space Advisory Committee

D. Bartram

## Grants-in-Aid Advisory Committee

M. Young

#### Regional Growth Monitoring Advisory Committee

B, Holdom (Chair)
D. Bartram

#### Regional Solid Waste Advisory Committee

G. Holme (Chair)

L. Biggemann

B. Holdom

C. Haime

#### Regional Parks & Trails Advisory Committee

L. McNabb (Chair)

J. Stanhope

D. Bartram

M. Young

S. Herle

## Drinking Water Watershed Protection Stewardship Advisory Committee

J. Stanhope (Chair)

D. Bartram